Sweet potato crust breakfast pizza

038f3f23-2d85-4ed7-9ef6-fd37b255b2f2Alright, I gotta admit it. I really outdid myself this time. Behold: The Sweet Potato Crust Breakfast Pizza in ALL OF IT’S GLORY!!!!! Wow. If you’re anything like me, I am really missing finding new restaurants to brunch at on the weekends. Rather than eat the same egg scramble or smoothie everyday, we’ve been trying to produce restaurant quality bunch meals each Saturday. I love getting creative in the kitchen so when I started craving some good ‘za, I started to think of ways to make it jusssst a little less sinful with what we had around the house. I mean if cauliflower can become pizza crust, there’s gotta be some other alternatives as well.

SWEET POTATOES. Often times for breakfast I’ll have a few slices of a sweet potato toasted with a poached egg and some avocado on top. Kind of a modified version of avocado toast, if you will. So I got to thinking…I bet there’s a way to make that on a larger scale, add a little sauce top it with some cheese, eggs and whatever else my heart desires to fulfill my breakfast pizza dreams without even leaving the house. I poked around on the internet and sure enough! It had been done using a sweet potato and some almond flour. Two things I happened to have in my kitchen.

First and foremost, preheat the oven to 400 degrees. The recipe called for just 1 tater, 1 egg and 1/2 a cup of almond flour.  I added a little bit of water to help the mixture blend in my Vitamix. I also cut the sweet potato into cubes to help it blend easier. From there I added in Himalayan salt, fresh garlic, oregano, garlic salt and paprika to taste. It still was a little too soupy to be dough-like so I added in about 1/4 cup more of almond flour. And let me tell you, that dough tasted INSANE. I could have eaten it out of the Vitamix to be honest.

After blending on high, I put the dough into the refrigerator for about 20-30 minutes to let it cool and firm up a bit. Time to start working on the toppings. For my pizza, I added cartelized onions, tomatoes, avocado, arugula, bacon and three eggs. And then obviously the sauce and cheese (I used dairy-free daiya mozzarella shreds). But, it’s really up to you. Get creative and add whatever savory combo of breakfast foods you wish.

img_2059To caramelize the red onions, I used olive oil and let them simmer for quite some time. I ended up adding in some sliced up cherry tomatoes to the mix as well. You’ll have quite a bit of time to get everything prepared to top your pizza because the dough takes about 50 minutes to get baked through enough to support all of the toppings without being too runny.

During this 20 minute break, I also made my pizza sauce. If you even want to call it that. I took a can of diced tomatoes and blended them on high in the Vitamix for about 30 seconds. We aren’t huge pizza sauce people, so this was just fine for us. Otherwise, you can buy sauce at the store, make a more complex version or just forgo it all together.

Once you’ve let your dough chill in the fridge for 20 minutes, it’s time to get out your pizza stone, parchment paper ] and pour that baby on there. Lightly spray your parchment paper too so you don’t run into any complications later on when all you wanna do is eat your creation. I took a spatula and made circular motions pressing down on the dough to get that perfect pizza shape. I did a circle, but hey if you’re a square pizza kind of person, go for it. You’re wrong, but go for it.

Place your precious baby pizza crust in the oven for about 45 minutes. I think I ended up adding a little bit more time cause I wanted to make sure the crust was nice n’ firrrrrm before I added the rest of the toppings. Now you have some time to chill before you need to prepare the rest of the toppings. If you have bacon that is needed cooked before you place it on your pie, now would be the time. You’ll only put it back in the oven for about 5 minutes at the end so make sure it’s cooked most of the way (if not all the way) through prior to slapping it on the ‘za.

They grow up so fast :’)

It’s topping time. I added the sauce, caramelized onions and tomatoes, avocados, arugula bacon, eggs and lastly the dairy free cheese. PRO TIP: MAKE BEDS FOR YOUR EGGS!!!. I kind of made little cages with the bacon because they like to try and squirm off of the pizza. You can also strategically place avocado around the egg to support it too. I did all of this inside the oven to minimize movement of the jiggly eggs, but I don’t know how smart that is. Use your best judgement and be careful not to burn the tops of your hands.

That’s it, the work is done! Now you just wait. I think I put it back in for about 5ish minutes, but just keep checking on it. Take it out when your eggs are done to your personal preference. In the meantime I would highly recommend throwing together a mimosa or fresh juice bar like we did. Really brought that restaurant vibe to life, ya know what I’m sayin’?

Viola. Put on your brimmed hats and sunglasses, it’s brunch time.

 

Sweet potato crust breakfast pizza-2

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.