I drank on a plane

“I hopped ON a plane at LAX, and flew Spirit because I’m broooke.” – Miley Cyrus…or something like that

Yesterday I jumped on a plane back to Iowa. No, it’s not because I decided that LA wasn’t for me after my first week there. In fact, in that regard, I’m feeling quite the opposite. Completely obsessed with our apartment, surrounding area and all of the opportunities at our fingertips. I also enjoy the drivers because they drive like I do. If you’ve ever ridden in a car with me, that should scare you.

Moving on. I came back to help out with a dance workshop being held in Iowa City. It’s been on the calendar since before we knew the lease start date. In coming back after a week, I’ve completely and utterly confused my poochies.  From the looks of it, they were just starting to get used to me being gone and I practically blew their pea brains when I walked in the door yelling embarrassing things in octaves so high only dogs can here them. SURPRISE PUPPAROOS, here I am begging for mass amounts of attention and refusing to let you lay anywhere else but next to me.

Oh yeah, and guess what the best part of this one full day in Iowa extravaganza is? I’m making the drive to California again. 26 hours. It’s laughable really. But this time I’ve got some different company. I’m riding along with my literal roommate (like as in we are sharing one room #TwinBedLyfe) Kelly and her newly retired dad…shoutout John! She said she’s planning on strapping me to the top of the car to make room for her stuff so I’ll keep you posted about how that goes and all the different kinds of bugs that hit me in the face!!!

IMG_5964.JPG

I’m digressing. Back to the flight. So like I said, I flew Spirit. This is not my first rodeo with the underdog airline. Actually, I’ve racked up quite a few flyer miles with them, embarrassingly enough. For those of you wondering how the heck I’ve managed to bop around so much while on a budget, that’s how. Skyscanner.com people, I’m tellin’ ya. While I prefer to fly SouthWest, not a chance I’m going to pass up a $45 flight.

I had to uber to LAX around 7 am and wouldn’t ya know, my Uber driver got lost. Twice. You live in LA, Y U NO UNDERSTAND WHERE LAX IS. But, I’m proud to say I’ve turned over this cool new leaf called punctuality. ‘Reimer Time’ no longer exists (most of the time) so I had plenty of time to get lost and still make it to the airport with some time to spare. Even when security took 32894 years. Once at the gate, my flight took off about 35 minutes late because of a wild overhead compartment that decided it didn’t want to close.

So I’m sitting here like ‘Ok, how the heck can I turn this day around??’ I always prefer traveling solo, so that wasn’t the issue. It was the constant delays and mass amounts of people that were starting to get to me. Too early for any of that. And then I an epiphany.  I am two months in to my membership in the 21 club and have yet to purchase a drink on a plane. It was one of the only things left over from my Vegas birthday 21-to-do-list. Why not, right? There’s not a whole lot else Spirit can offer me in the next 3 hours.

I’m desperate here, so I stupidly pay $14 for a regular sized Bloody Mary instead of $8 for a baby one. That’s basically a bargain right? I figure the money I saved from not checking a bag and flying Spirit has to be spent somewhere.

Drink in hand…or rather on the tray table in front of me, one of the flight attendants asks me if I would like to move to a row by myself. HELL FREAKING YES I WOULD. I was previously tormented with the unfortunate placement next to a couple who was overly affectionate and HUGE fans of whispering in each others ears…I’m pretty sure Eduardo (that’s the flight attendants name) felt my pain.

IMG_5963.JPG
Catch me on Instagram at @hollyreimer for more RIVETING stories like this one!!! Wow!!!

Alright, so now I’m posted up in my private row, watching a TV show, sipping on my extremely average and overpriced bloody and loving life. I had a few episodes of American Horror Story: Hotel downloaded from the cloud (I COULD NOT for the LIFE of me figure out how to access any of the other 5 movies I have in the cloud…probably need internet or something…or some sort of teleportation technological cloud removal device mechanism, who knows. Technology man).

Long story short, the rest of the flight went by much smoother. Thank god. It wasn’t anywhere near the quality of a Short’s bloody in Iowa City (UGH THAT BLUE CHEESE), but it warranted the final check on my 21 bucket list. Woo!

Now I have a day of dance ahead of me before I shove myself in the backseat of Kelly’s car for 26 hours!!! I’m excited to be here with my family and dogs, and even more excited to dance with some old pals, but I can’t wait to get back to my new home and finally have all of our roommates moved in.

Leave a Reply

