So it begins

I DID NOT START A BLOG AS A NEW YEARS RESOLUTION OR ANYTHING RELATED TO NEW YEARS.

In fact, I am bound and determined to be the last person on the face of the earth to make a resolution at this point.

Resolution or not, I’ve been pretty reluctant to start a blog because I find it nearly impossible to brand myself as one thing when I have interests all over the board. Nonetheless, I’m surrendering. This is largely because I’m sitting in the car on the way home from Denver and am bored out of my freaking mind. But, truth be told, I’m finally starting this shabang after what’s probably a solid year of contemplating. I’m a bit of a perfectionist so if you knew how many times I’ve read this over, before actually clicking publish, you would probably be sick. Not gonna lie, sharing my work, whether writing or any other form of art, freaks me the f out. The whole idea of putting myself out there, knowing that for as many people who like what I do or say, there are probably double that amount that wish I would just go away (this is 100p a jab at anyone who voted ‘go away’ on my twitter poll) . But hey, such is journalism and such is life. I used to keep a journal pretty religiously but have found myself too caught up in everything else going on to keep up with my writing. Being on winter break seems like to perfect time to rekindle the fiya.

No doubt, writing keeps me sane. Thoughts aren’t anything concrete or real until they are verbalized or written down. You can turn something over in your head a million times but, if it just sits in there it’s doing nothing but taking up space and clouding your ability to actually live. I’m already someone who is very in my head and since neglecting my writing, it’s made for a lot of sleepless nights and blank stares (I promise I’m not braindead, there are actually wheels turning in there most of the time). And because some things truly are better left unsaid verbally, what better way to realize those chaotic thoughts and ideas on the internet machine for literally everyone to read. Go technology!

So. Here I am crawling back to my true love: writing. Out in the open and 100% out of my comfort zone. But yo, as the cliche goes “life begins outside your comfort zone.”

One thought on “So it begins

Leave a Reply

